Please wait...

ispecx News / Updates

ispecxreportsoftware.jpg

Home Inspector State Licensing Information 

*Disclaimer*  Due to the ever-changing legislation, please notify us of any information that appears incorrect or out of date.

iNACHI Home Inspector State Licensing Information 


Alabama

Home inspectors are regulated in Alabama and must renew their licenses annually. No continuing education is required. The Alabama Building Commission is the regulating body.

License Requirements:

1). Complete and file a notarized home inspector application and mail to:

ATTENTION: HOME INSPECTORS REGISTRATION SECTION
ALABAMA BUILDING COMMISSION
P. O. BOX 301150
MONTGOMERY, AL 36130-1150

2). Show proof of compliance of the American Society of Home Inspectors Standards and Ethics Examination, and show proof of compliance of the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors National Home Inspector Examination.

3). Proof of insurance coverage in the amount of $250,000.00 for errors and omissions, and proof of liability insurance in the amount of $20,000 for injury or damage to property, $50,000 for injury or damage to any one person, and $100,000 for injury or damage, including death, to more than one person.

4). Proof of qualifications or membership with one of their approved categories listed on the application.

5) $300.00 registration fee payable by cashier check, money order, or bank check

The license must be renewed before December 31st of the present calendar year. The annual renewal fee is $300.

THE ALABAMA HOME INSPECTORS REGISTRATION ACT (2002-517). As you are probably already aware, you cannot enforce your contracts as a home inspector unless you have complied with the Act’s provisions. It is also a Class A misdemeanor to undertake the business of home inspection without being licensed under this new Act.

Contact Info:

Alabama Building Commission

RSA Plaza
770 Washington Ave, Suite 470
Montgomery Al 36130-2631
Phone: (334) 242-4082

Mailing Address

P O Box 301150
Montgomery, Al 36130-1150

ASHI Alabama Chapter

Alabama State SOP for Home Inspectors


ALASKA

Alaska home inspectors are regulated by the Department of Commerce and Economic Development. Licenses are to be renewed every 2 years and continuing education is required. No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Inspectors in Alaska must also obtain an Alaska Business License. You can register as a new home inspector, existing home inspector, or joint registration.

The Alaska licensing application must be completed to obtain the appropriate certification.

There is a bonding requirement of $10,000 for home inspectors, effective January 1, 2015.

CONTINUED COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS - An applicant for renewal of a home inspection registration must complete at least eight hours of acceptable continuing competency activities for the concluding two-year licensing period.

ASHI Alaska Chapter

Alaska State SOP for Home Inspectors


ARIZONA

Home inspectors are regulated in Arizona with annual renewal. Continuing education is required – 14 hours in 1st year and 7 hours each year after.

The Arizona State Board of Technical Registration has application forms and more info that can be found here.

  • Include a signed check in the amount of $175.00 for the application fee. 
  • Include a copy of the applicant's clearance card, front, and back.
  • Include a copy of your completion results from the National Home Inspector Examination. 
  • Include proof of completion of an approved training program showing a minimum of 84 hours of training in accordance with R4-30-247(5). 
  • Include your log of 30 parallel inspections (must have an affidavit signed by each parallel inspector to be included with your submitted parallel inspection log).
  • Include a Verification of experience form completed by a Certified Home Inspector.
  • Include an original home inspection report of one of the parallel inspections you have prepared that meet the standards set forth in R4-30-301(1) and accompanied by a Report Checklist Supplement. 
  • Complete, sign and date “Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits,” which is found within the Alarm Agent Application Packet, along with a copy of supporting evidence as listed on pages 3-5 of the document.
  • Include a copy of government-issued photographic identification, pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1080. (See the included document within the Alarm Agent Application Packet, which lists acceptable forms of ID headed by "Attention" and dated 8/9/2017).
  • Sign and date Notice to Home Inspectors

ASHI Arizona Chapter

Ispecx AZ WDI Wood Destroying Insect reporting template is available FREE


ARKANSAS

Inspectors are regulated in Arkansas. The Home Inspector Registration Board is the governing body and license renewal is needed annually. No experience is required, but 80 pre-licensing hours are required, as well as 14 annual hours of CE.

You must attend a home inspector training school with a curriculum approved by the Board, and 80 hours of classroom training.  Correspondence courses or online courses are not acceptable.

The Board authorized a list of schools to teach the “pre-registration” curriculum.

Read the Arkansas code law regulating the practice of home inspection in Arkansas.

Download the registration application form or request one by telephone from the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board office at (501) 683-3710.

The registration fee is $250.00 per year. However, for applications received between July 1 and December 31, the fee is $375. That registers you for the balance of the year plus the following calendar year.

They also have new rules and procedures effective January 1, 2015.

Arkansas SOP for Home Inspection


CALIFORNIA

California home inspectors are not state-regulated. However, the California Trade practice act (enacted in 1996) prohibits unethical home inspection practices.

The law encourages courts to consider the Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics of ASHI (American Society of Home Inspectors) and CREIA (California Real Estate Inspection Association) when determining whether an inspection meets the required standard of care.

More info can be found online at the California Contractors State License Board.

For 24 Hour Licensing & Consumer Information call: 1-800-321-2752

CREIA Home Inspector Chapter


COLORADO

Home Inspectors are not regulated in the State of Colorado. Clients and agents will want to see customer reviews and some type of training/certification.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

ASHI Colorado Chapter


CONNECTICUT

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Department of Consumer Protection, with renewal required every 2 years. 40 hours of pre-licensing training is required, as well as 20 hours of CE. They list their approved home inspection schools and pre-licensing courses available.

To be eligible for a home inspector license, an applicant must:

1) Have successfully completed high school or its equivalent;

2) Have earned a home inspector intern permit and performed not less than 100 home inspections in accordance with subsection (c) of section 20-493b;

3) Have passed an oral, written or electronic competency examination administered by the department; and

4) Paid a fee of $200.00

To be eligible for a permit as a home inspector intern, an applicant must:

1) Have successfully completed high school or its equivalent

2) Have enrolled in and completed a board-approved training program

3) Have an identified supervisor who is licensed as a home inspector, is in good standing, and has agreed to perform the supervisory functions required

4) Have paid $100.00 fee

The home inspector license application can be found here.

ASHI Connecticut Chapter

Connecticut Home Inspection SOP


DELAWARE

Home Inspectors in Delaware are regulated by the State. The requirements differ whether you have an active license in another jurisdiction or are applying new.

To become a home inspector in Delaware, you have to apply to be a home inspector trainee if you don’t have a current license in another jurisdiction. If you are a currently licensed inspector, you can apply by endorsement.

Once you have completed a minimum of 75 inspections under supervision, you can take the exam to become licensed.

To Take the Exam:

  • Submit copies of your classroom or online training certificates. Training must total 140 hours and be approved by ASHI, NAHI, or InterNACHI, as well as proof of your 75 inspections.

Contact Info:

Division of Professional Regulation

Cannon Building, Suite 203
861 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, Delaware 19904

Phone – (302) 744-4500
Fax – (302) 739-2711
customerservice.dpr@delaware.gov

ASHI Deleware Chapter

Delaware Home Inspection SOP


FLORIDA

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

Pre-license requirements:

  • 120 hours from one approved training provider
  • Pass the NHIE, FABI, InterNACHI, or CI-HPI exam
  • Obtain liability insurance
  • Pass background check

Continuing education requirements include 14 hours of board-approved education each biennium and $105.00 fee.

Contact Info:

Home Inspectors Licensing Program
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

Phone: 850.487.1395

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/contact-us/

ASHI Florida Chapter

Florida Home Inspection SOP Rules

Ispecx Florida Wood Destroying Insect reporting template is available FREE


GEORGIA

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the State of Georgia.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended but not a requirement.

ASHI Georgia Chapter

Georgia Wood Destroying Insect WDI reporting template is available FREE for all ispecx users.


HAWAII

Home Inspectors currently are regulated by the state of Hawaii, as of recent legislation effective July 2019.

Inspectors must either pass the NHIE or Hawaii Association of Home Inspectors Certified Inspector Examination to be accepted by the board as licensed.

Licenses must be renewed every two years to keep licensed status.

Hawaii Home Inspection SOP


IDAHO

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the State of Idaho.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended but not required.

ASHI Idaho Chapter


ILLINOIS

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.

The requirements to become a licensed home inspector:

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Obtain a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete 60 hours of pre-license education from an approved provider
  • Pass the Home Inspector Exam for Illinois (Consists of NHIE plus a section on Illinois specific statutes & regulations)
  • Submit application and pay a fee

Contact Info:

Division of Professional Regulation
320 W. Washington St.
Springfield, IL 62786

Telephone: (217) 785-0800
Fax: (217) 782-7645

ASHI Illinois Chapter

Illinois Home Inspection SOP


INDIANA

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Home Inspectors Licensing Board (Part of the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency).

Licensing Requirements:

  • Submit an application that can be found here
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • High school diploma or GED
  • Pass background check
  • Complete a board-approved training program and pass the NHIE
  • Carry a minimum of $100k in general liability insurance coverage
  • Pay $50.00 application fee

Contact Info:

Home Inspectors Licensing Board
402 W. Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Phone: (317) 234-3009
Email: pla9@pla.in.gov

ASHI Indiana Chapter

Indiana SOP for Home Inspectors


IOWA

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the State of Iowa.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is also recommended.

ASHI Iowa Chapter


KANSAS

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Kansas.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is also recommended.

ASHI Kansas Chapter


KENTUCKY

Home Inspectors in Kentucky are regulated by the Board of Home Inspectors within the Office of Occupations and Professions.

Application Requirements:

  • 18 years of age
  • High school diploma or GED
  • Pass a recent background check performed by the Kentucky State Police
  • Completed application
  • Pass the National Home Inspectors Exam
  • Complete 3 unpaid home inspections under the supervision of a Kentucky licensed home inspector with written reports submitted
  • 64 total credit hours of approved training
  • 16 hours of field training, including not more than 8 in a lab

Contact Info:

Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors
656 Chamberlin Avenue, Suite B
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone: 502-782-0563

ASHI Kentucky Chapter

Kentucky SOP for Home Inspections


LOUISIANA

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors.

They have a very helpful how-to get a licensed page that gives the following requirements:

  1. If you are applying for an LSBHI Home Inspection License, you will be required to go through a minimum of 90 hours of classroom education with an LSBHI approved Education Provider.
  2. Pass NHIE Exam
  3. Complete 30 hours of pre-licensing platform training, as well as ten (10) live inspections with an approved in-field trainer
  4. Attend Report Writing Seminar given by LSBHI
  5. Obtain Insurance
  6. Apply with the LSBHI and pay $200 application fee

Contact Info:

Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors

5211 Essen Lane, Suite 9
Baton Rouge, LA. 70809

Phone: (225) 248-1334
Email: Contact Form

ASHI Louisiana Chapter

Louisiana SOP for Home Inspectors


MAINE

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Maine.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.


MARYLAND

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.

An applicant for a home inspector license must:

  • Complete a 72-hour on-site home inspector training course approved by the Commission
  • Pass the NHIE
  • Submit completed application and fee
  • Have at least $150k in general liability insurance

Contact Info:

500 North Calvert Street, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Phone: 410-230-6363
Email: appraiser@dllr.state.md.us

ASHI Maryland Chapter

Maryland SOP For Home Inspections


MASSACHUSETTS

Home inspectors in Massachusetts are regulated by the Board of Registration of Home Inspectors, specifically the Division of Professional Licensure and the Board of Registration of Home Inspectors.

Directions on how to become an Associate Home Inspector can be found here, and include:

  • Completion of high school
  • Complete the application and pay $225 fee
  • 25 fee-paid home inspections
  • Pass a Board approved license exam
  • 75 hours of Educational Training Credits

Directions on how to become a licensed Home Inspector can be found here, and include:

  • Completion of high school
  • Complete the application and pay $338 fee
  • Being an Associate Home Inspector for at least 1 year
  • 100 home inspections
  • Proof of mandatory insurance coverage

Contact Info:

Division of Professional Licensure
1000 Washington Street, 7th Floor
Boston, MA 02118

Phone: (617) 272-4459
Email: homeinspectorsboard@mass.gov

Massachusetts SOP For Home Inspections


MICHIGAN

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the State of Michigan.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is also recommended.

ASHI Great Lakes Chapter


MINNESOTA

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Minnesota.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is also recommended.


MISSISSIPPI

Home Inspectors in Mississippi are regulated by the Mississippi Home Inspector Board.

Licensing requirements and qualifications include:

  • Completion of high school or GED
  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Completing an approved study course of 60 hours
  • Pass the NHIE
  • Provide proof of insurance in the amount of $250,000 for general liability and $250,000 E&O

Contact Info:

Mississippi Home Inspector Board

Lefleur’s Bluff Tower, Suite 300
4780 I-55 North, Jackson, MS 39211

Telephone: (601) 321-6970
Email: info@mrec.state.ms.us

SOP For Mississippi Inspectors


MISSOURI

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Missouri.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.


MONTANA

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Montana.

No Home Inspection reporting requirements.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.


NEBRASKA

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Nebraska.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.


NEVADA

Home Inspectors in Nevada are regulated by the Nevada Real Estate Division of the Department of Business and Industry.

Initial certification requirements include:

  • Completed application
  • Fingerprint cards
  • Minimum of 40 hours of approved education
  • Observed at least 25 inspections performed by a certified general inspector
  • Pass Original Inspector if Structures exam in last 12 months
  • $100,000 in E&O and General Liability insurance
  • Pay $350.00 fee

Contact Info:

Inspectors of Structures 
Telephone: (775) 684-1904

Nevada SOP For Structure Inspectors


NEW HAMPSHIRE

Home Inspectors in New Hampshire are regulated by the Board of Home Inspectors – Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Requirements are listed on their application as follows:

  • $200.00 fee
  • Completed application
  • Proof of liability insurance
  • Proof of passing the NHIE or equivalent Board approved the exam
  • 80 hours of board-approved education

Contact Info:

Diana Craigie – License Clerk
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-6775
Email: diana.craigie@oplc.nh.gov 

New Hampshire SOP for Home Inspections


NEW JERSEY

New Jersey Home Inspectors are governed by the Home Inspection Advisory Committee.

Requirements to become a home inspector in New Jersey:

  • Complete application
  • Complete an approved study course of 180 hours, which shall include not less than 40 hours of unpaid field-based inspections supervised by a licensed home inspector, OR
  • Have performed not less than 250 fee-paid home inspections in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a licensed home inspector
  • Errors & Omissions insurance of $500,000 per occurrence

Contact Info:

Michael DeFrancisci
P.O. Box 45043
Newark, New Jersey 07101
Telephone: (973) 504-6233

ASHI New Jersey Chapter

New Jersy SOP for Home Inspectors


NEW MEXICO

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of New Mexico, however, the state voted to establish licensing in New Mexico beginning January 1st, 2020.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.


NEW YORK

Home Inspectors are licensed and regulated through the Division of Licensing Services.

The qualifications and documents required are as follows:

  • Completed high school or GED
  • 140 hours of approved education course
  • Perform 100 paid or unpaid home inspections in the presence of a licensed home inspector
  • Completion of the NYS written exam
  • $250.00 application fee

Contact Info:

Department of State, Division of Licensing Services
123 William Street
New York, NY 10038
Telephone: (518) 474-4429
Email: Contact Form

ASHI New York Chapter

New York SOP for Home Inspectors


NORTH CAROLINA

Home Inspectors in North Carolina are governed by the Department of Insurance – Home Inspector Licensure Board.

Home Inspectors must complete the following pre-license requirements:

  • Pass criminal history check
  • Pass North Carolina state exam
  • 120 hours of approved classroom education, 80 hours of field training
  • Obtain liability insurance in the amount of $250,000 and one of the following:
    • Minimum assets not less than $5,000
    • Surety bond not less than $5,000
    • E&O insurance of $250,000

Contact Info:

Home Inspector Licensure Board
325 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: (919) 647-0000
Email: Contact Form

ASHI North Carolina Chapter

North Carolina SOP for Home Inspection


NORTH DAKOTA

Home Inspectors in North Dakota are regulated by the Secretary of State.

To become a registered home inspector you must:

  • Be 18 years of age
  • Complete the application
  • Submit proof of passing an approved exam
  • Submit proof of current insurance coverage of at least $100,000
  • Pay $200.00 registration fee

Contact Info:

Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Avenue Dept 108
Bismarck ND 58505-0500
Telephone: 701-328-2900

North Dakota SOP for Hoem Inspectors


OHIO

Home Inspectors are currently regulated by the state of Ohio.

The state government voted into law in January 2019 that all home inspectors must be licensed if they are being compensated by clients. This bill became effective in November 2019.

Contact Info: 

Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing 
77 South High Street, 2oth Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: (614) 466-4100

ASHI Ohio Chapter

Ohio SOP for Home Inspection


OKLAHOMA

Home inspectors in Oklahoma are regulated by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.

Requirements include:

  • Completion of 90 hours of approved training
  • Pass the NHIE
  • General liability insurance of at least $50,000

Home Inspector Application

Contact Info:

Oklahoma Construction Industries Board – Home Inspector Division

2401 NW 23rd, Suite 2F
Oklahoma City, OK 73107

Phone: (405) 521-6550

Oklahoma SOP Home Inspections


OREGON

Home inspectors are regulated by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board.

The certification process includes:

  • Passing the NHIE Exam
  • Submitting a completed application packet
  • Submitting a completed Qualifying Points and Documentation form
  • Paying $150.00 two-year certification fee

Contact Info:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
P.O. Box 14140
Salem, Oregon 97309-5052

Telephone: (503) 378-4621

ASHI Oregon Chapter

Oregon SOP for Home Inspectors


PENNSYLVANIA

Home Inspectors in Pennsylvania are not formally licensed by the state. They are regulated by the Attorney General’s Office. The state has a rule that to be a home inspector the individual must be a member of a non-profit organization.

See their resources on consumer protection.

ASHI Pennsylvania Chapter


RHODE ISLAND

Effective July 1, 2013 Home Inspectors in Rhode Island need to be licensed by the Contractors Registration and Licensing Board.

Requirements for eligibility include:

  • Be of good moral character
  • Completion of high school or equivalent
  • Have been a licensed associate home inspector for no less than 1 year, and performed no less than 100 paid home inspections
  • The passing of a Board-approved exam

Contact Info:

Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
560 Jefferson Blvd Suite 200
Warwick, RI 02886

Phone: (401) 921-1590


SOUTH CAROLINA

Home Inspectors in the state of South Carolina must be licensed with the South Carolina Residential Builders Commission.

Application instructions and requirements include:

  • Completed application
  • $80 fee
  • Completed Verification of Lawful Presence Form
  • Completed Home Inspectors Affidavit or Proof of certification by an approved organization
  • Pass background check
  • Performed 50 residential inspections

Contact Info:

South Carolina Residential Builders Commission
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, SC 29211

Phone: (803) 896-4696

Email: Contact.RBC@llr.sc.gov


SOUTH DAKOTA

Home Inspectors are regulated by the South Dakota Real Estate Commission.

To become a registered home inspector you must:

  • Complete an approved course of no less than 40 hours
  • Pass required exam
  • Complete application
  • Pay $200.00 fee

To become a licensed home inspector you must:

  • Be at the registered level for no less than 1 year
  • Have performed at least 100 home inspections for compensation, with submitted experience log

Contact Info:

South Dakota Real Estate Commission

221 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 101
Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: (605) 773-3600
Email: dlr.realestate@state.sd.us


TENNESSEE

Home inspectors in the state of Tennessee are regulated by the Department of Commerce and Insurance.

They have a very helpful “How to Get a License” page that gives the following requirements:

  • At least 18 years of age
  • High school or GED
  • 90 hours of a commissioner-approved training program
  • Pass the NHIE
  • General liability insurance of at least $500,000
  • E&O Insurance (no minimum)

Forms and Downloads can be found online here.

Contact Info:

Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance 

500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37243

Phone: (615) 741-2241


TEXAS

Home inspectors in the state of Texas are regulated by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC). They have some of the most thorough oversight and documentation in the country, so you can find links below.

The application to become an Apprentice Inspectors can be found here.

The application to become a Real Estate Inspector can be found here.

Home Inspection reporting requirements must follow established reporting formats.

Contact Info:

Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC)

P.O. Box 12188
Austin, TX 78711

Phone: (512) 459-6544

ASHI Lone Star Chapter


UTAH

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by the state of Utah.

No Home Inspection reporting guidelines

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is also recommended.


VERMONT

Home Inspectors are regulated by the Vermont Secretary of State.

Steps for Applying by Certification:

  1. Submit a completed application and $100.00 non-refundable application fee
  2. Submit evidence that you are certified and have ACI Membership through ASHI
  3. Provide Verification of Good Standing from your initial state of licensure, if applicable

Steps for Applying by Examination:

1. Submit a completed application and the $100.00 non-refundable application fee, payable to the Vermont Secretary of State.

2. Submit evidence that you completed 80 hours of education through an approved course provider.

3. Submit evidence that you passed the National Home Inspector Examination, administered through Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP).

4. If applicable, provide Verification of Good Standing from your initial state of licensure and your most recent state of licensure.

Contact Info:

Vermont Secretary of State

Colin Benjamin
Director
89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier VT 05620-3402

(802) 828-3228

Vermont SOP for Home Inspection


VIRGINIA

Home inspectors are not currently required to get certification by the state of Virginia.

It is a voluntary certification, however, if you’re not certified through the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors then you may not use the title of “certified home inspector” or conduct or offer to provide a “certified home inspection”.

Certification requirements & qualifications include:

1. The applicant must be at least 18 years old.

2. The applicant must meet specific educational and experience requirements and have a high school diploma or equivalent.

There is an application fee of $80.00, and renewals fees are $45.00.

Contact Info:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

9960 Mayland Drive, Fourth Floor
Richmond, VA 23233-1485

(804) 367-8500
dpor@dpor.virginia.gov

ASHI Virginia Chapter


WASHINGTON

Home Inspectors in the state of Washington must be licensed by the Washington State Department of Licensing.

They have a very helpful How to Get Your License page that outlines the following requirements:

No Home Inspection reporting design limitation requirements.

Contact Info:

Washington State Department of Licensing

PO Box 3917
Seattle, WA 98124

(360) 664-6487
DOLINTHomeInspectors@dol.wa.gov

ASHI Washington Chapter

NACHI Chapter

Washington State SOP for Home Inspectors


WASHINGTON D.C.

Home Inspectors are currently not regulated by Washington D.C.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.


West Virginia

Home Inspectors in West Virginia are regulated by the West Virginia Fire Marshal’s Office.

To become a certified home inspector in West Virginia:

  • Complete a state-approved the exam
  • Complete a state-approved 80 hours of education

Contact Info:

Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety

State Fire Marshal’s Office
1207 Quarrier St, 2nd Floor
Charleston, WV  25301
Phone: (304) 558-2191


WISCONSIN

Home inspectors are regulated by the state of Wisconsin, through the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

The requirements to become a Wisconsin home inspector are outlined in Subchapter X:

  • Submit application and pay $44 fee
  • Submits evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she is not subject to a pending criminal charge, or has not been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense, the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of home inspection
  • Pass an examination approved by the department, or as stated on their site “No person may be registered under this subchapter unless he or she passes an examination approved by the department. In approving an examination under this subsection, the department shall consider the use of an examination that is similar to an examination that is required for membership in the American Society of Home Inspectors.”

Contact Info:

Department of Safety and Professional Services
4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, WI  53705
(608) 266-2112

dsps@wisconsin.gov

Wisconsin SOP for Home Inspectors


WYOMING

Home inspectors are not currently regulated by the state of Wyoming.

Liability insurance and certification through a reputable home inspection training association is recommended.

AZhomeInspection.png

Arizona Wood Destroying Insect Report Form Template

Ispecx Software includes Arizona WDIIR Report in the Inspection Templates. The Arizona Wood Destroying Insect Inspection Report is the official wood destroying organism report form, published by the Arizona Structural Pest Control Commission

What is a Wood-Destroying Insect Inspection Report?

A Wood-Destroying Insect Inspection Report (WDIIR) is a document prepared only by a licensed pest control business that informs a lending institution and a buyer about termite damage or presence. As a protective measure, banks and lending institutions often require that homes be inspected for damage from termites or other wood-destroying insects before closing the sale of the home.

WDIIR's have two pages. The first page provides basic information about the inspection such as the address of the property and answers general questions, such as:

  • Are there any obstructions or areas inaccessible to inspection?
  • Is there any visible evidence of infestation or previous treatment?
  • If the damage is present, who will correct it?
  • A statement of the inspector describes the terms, conditions, and limitations of the inspection.

The second page of the WDIIR goes into more detail. It pinpoints special areas of concern such as locations of previous treatment, and areas that are inaccessible to inspection. At the bottom of page two, there is a space for the inspector to draw the structure with these details included. Obviously, this is where accuracy matters most because the buyer and lending institution rely on this specific information when deciding whether or not to go through with a sale.

Termite Information

Arizona is home to subterranean termites. The subterranean termite can severely damage structural timbers in homes, buildings, utility poles and other structures built with cellulose materials.

trec.png

Trec Texas Computerized Report Form Software

Ispecx Pest Control Software includes the Texas T-4 Wood Destroying Insect Report & Home Inspection base Template in the Inspection reporting Template market place. The Texas T-4 Report is the official wood destroying insect report form, published by the Texas Structural Pest Control Board.

Standard Inspection Report Form

  1. The Commission adopts by reference Property Inspection Report Form REI 7-5, approved by the Commission for use in reporting inspections results. This document is published by and available from the Commission website: www.trec.texas.gov, or by writing to the Commission at Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188.
    1. Except as provided by this section, inspections performed for a prospective buyer or prospective seller of substantially complete one-to-four family residential property shall be reported on Form REI 7-5 adopted by the Commission ("the standard form").
    2. Inspectors may reproduce the standard form by computer or from printed copies obtained from the Commission. Except as specifically permitted by this section, the inspector shall reproduce the text of the standard form verbatim and the spacing, borders and placement of text on the page must appear to be identical to that in the printed version of the standard form.
    3. An inspector may make the following changes to the standard form:
      1. delete the line for name and license number, of the sponsoring inspector, if the inspection was performed solely by a professional inspector;
      2. change the typeface; provided that it is no smaller than a 10 point font;
      3. change the color of the typeface and checkboxes;
      4. use legal sized (8-1/2" by 14") paper;
      5. add a cover page to the report form;
      6. add footers to each page of the report except the first page and may add headers to each page of the report;
      7. place the property identification and page number at either the top or bottom of the page;
      8. add subheadings under items, provided that the numbering of the standard items remains consistent with the standard form;
      9. list other items in the corresponding appropriate section of the report form and additional captions, letters, and check boxes for those items;
      10. delete inapplicable subsections of Section VI., Optional Systems, and re-letter any remaining subsections;
      11. delete Subsection L., Other, of Section I., Structural Systems; Subsection E., Other of Section IV, Plumbing Supply, Distribution Systems and Fixtures and Subsection I., Other of Section V., Appliances;
      12. as the inspector deems necessary:
        1. allocate such space for comments in:
          1. the "Additional Information Provided by the Inspector" section; and
          2. each section provided for comments for each inspected item;
        2. attach additional pages of comments; or
        3. both;
      13. include a service agreement/inspection contract or contractual terms between the inspector and a client with the standard form under the "Additional Information Provided by the Inspector" section or as an attachment to the standard form;
      14. attach additional pages to the form if:
        1. it is necessary to report the inspection of a component, or system not contained in the standard form; or
        2. the space provided on the form is inadequate for a complete reporting of the Inspection; and
      15. Remove the Commission's logo or substitute the inspector's logo in place of the Commission's logo.
    4. The inspector shall renumber the pages of the standard form to correspond with any changes made necessary due to adjusting the space for comments or adding additional items and shall number all pages of the report, including any addenda.
    5. The inspector shall indicate, by checking the appropriate boxes on the form, whether each item was inspected, not inspected, not present, or deficient and explain the findings in the corresponding section in the body of the report form.
    6. This section does not apply to the following:
      1. re-inspections of a property performed for the same client;
      2. inspections performed for or required by a lender or governmental agency;
      3. inspections for which federal or state law requires use of a different report;
      4. quality control construction inspections of new homes performed for builders, including phased construction inspections, inspections performed solely to determine compliance with building codes, warranty or underwriting requirements, or inspections required by a municipality and the builder or other entity requires use of a different report, and the first page of the report contains a notice either in bold or underlined reading substantially similar to the following: "This report was prepared for a builder or other entity in accordance with the builder's requirements. The report is not intended as a substitute for an inspection of the property by an inspector of the buyer's choice. Standard inspections performed by a license holder and reported on Commission promulgated report forms may contain additional information a buyer should consider in making a decision to purchase." If a report form required for use by the builder or builder's employee does not contain the notice, the inspector may attach the notice to the first page of the report at the time the report is prepared by the inspector;
      5. an inspection of a building or addition that is not substantially complete; or
      6. inspections of a single system or component as outlined in clause (ii) of this subparagraph, provided that the first page of the report contains a notice either in bold or underlined reading substantially similar to the following: "This report was prepared for a buyer or seller in accordance with the client's requirements. The report addresses a single system or component and is not intended as a substitute for a complete standard inspection of the property. Standard inspections performed by a license holder and reported on a Commission promulgated report form may contain additional information a buyer should consider in making a decision to purchase."
        1. If the client requires the use of a report form that does not contain the notice, the inspector may attach the notice to the first page of the report at the time the report is prepared by the inspector.
        2. An inspection is considered to be of a single system or component if the inspection only addresses one of the following or a portion thereof:
          1. foundation;
          2. framing/structure, as outlined in §535.213(e)(2) of this title;
          3. building enclosure;
          4. roof system;
          5. plumbing system;
          6. electrical system;
          7. HVAC system;
          8. a single appliance; or
          9. a single optional system as stated in the Standards of Practice.
wastateSPI.png

Washington State SPI Reporting Template

Washington Wood Destroying Organism Inspection Report

Ispecx Software includes the WSPCA Washington Wood Destroying Organism Inspection Report form in the Template market place. The WSPCA Report is the official wood destroying insect report form, required by the Wood Destroying Organism Inspection Reporting Criteria found in WAC 16-228-2005 through 16-228-2045. This form may also be used in conjunction with the NPMA-33 form.

WAC 16-228-2060

Specific wood destroying organism inspection reports.

(1) A specific WDO inspection report must be completed in conjunction with any proposal or estimate for the prevention or control of WDOs. Pest management activities performed under an existing warranty will not require the preparation of a specific WDO inspection report.

(2) A specific WDO inspection report must not be construed as a complete WDO inspection report or, in any case, be used in lieu of a complete WDO inspection report for the sale, exchange, or refinancing of real property. A statement explaining the restriction against use in real estate transactions must stand out by having larger print than the main body of the report, be highlighted, underlined, or be in bold print on all specific WDO inspection reports.

(3) Report form: A specific WDO inspection report may take any written form in presentation, provided that all elements of this section are identifiable.

(4) A specific WDO inspection report must be issued to the person requesting the inspection.

(5) Report contents: Specific WDO inspection reports will contain the information identified in this section, when and where applicable.

(a) The name of the owner (or their representative) requesting the inspection or estimate for pest management of WDOs must be provided on the first page of the report.

(b) Date: The date the inspection was conducted must be provided on the first page of the report.

(c) Address of structure inspected: The complete address will include, but is not limited to, building number, street name, city, and state and must be identified on the first page of the report. Where multiple buildings at a property may have the same basic address, a building letter, unit number, or other recognizable method must be used to identify the specific building inspected.

(d) Inspector: The name of the inspector and WSDA license number must be provided on the first page of the report.

(6) Report of findings: A specific WDO inspection report must detail the findings of the inspector. The following minimum conditions, where applicable, must be in the body of the report.

(a) The report must include a statement describing the presence of, or signs of, infestation by WDOs that were identified and resulted in the proposal or estimate. Approximate location(s) of the WDOs or signs of infestation(s) reported on or in the structure must be clearly identified on a diagram. If the proposed treatment is for preventative purposes only, the report must so state. All WDOs must be identified by their proper name as described in WAC 16-228-2005.

(b) When a proposal or estimate is prepared for the treatment of moisture ants, dampwood termites, wood infesting beetles, or wood decay fungi the inspector must, where possible, identify and report the condition(s) conducive to such infestations. It must be stated in the report that infestations of such WDOs may be eliminated by the removal of all infested wood and correction of any contributing conducive conditions.

(7) Diagrams: A diagram must be prepared for each inspection report and must accompany that report.

(a) A diagram is not required when there are no findings as described in WAC 16-228-2015 and 16-228-2025.

(b) Scaled diagrams are not required however, diagrams must reasonably resemble the perimeter or footprint of the building being inspected and legibly convey any information that is a required part of the diagram.

(c) A diagram must identify the approximate location of WDOs and/or signs of infestation(s) by WDOs.

(d) Where abbreviations are used on a diagram, a legend must be provided to explain the abbreviations.

(8) A record of all specific WDO inspection reports must be maintained on file by the inspecting firm for a period of one year. Upon request, these records must be made available to the WSDA.